Snow is falling…tears in my eyes…thoughts on spirituality

snowy backyard

I’m in the dining room right now, sitting at our dining room table, having just spend 5 to 10 minutes looking out the window at our backyard as the snow falls down blanketing the earth with several inches of snow. I confess it brought tears to my eyes. The beauty of the white looks so pure and clean. I think maybe winter is just saying a final goodbye and not to forget it. To remember there is beauty in winter. There is truth in winter.

My chai has just finished heating on the stove, so I have just gone over to pour it into a mug with a spoon full of honey in it to give it a bit of sweetness to compliment the peppery ginger. Chai is so good on a snow filled wintery day. Warmth among the cold. My taste buds thank me as I take a sip. Mmmmm…

The tears I experienced while watching the snow fall were more than just observing its beauty. They were tears of joy and thankfulness. It was an acknowledgement of gratitude to God, the Universe, Source, the Creator…for guiding me back to my connection to all that is. The real me. The me who wants to connect physically, emotionally, spiritually to all that is and give myself to the greatness that exist with in all of us.

The tears were also of frustration and the unknown as I am at a loss as to where to put my efforts in the spiritual life I want to lead. I am not a fan of traditional religion as I find the majority of them practice disconnection. I have experience in both Christianity and Judaism and I found although there was love among the people I met and interacted with while practicing these religions, the love was conditional. I find this is the biggest issue our world faces. It’s funny because I know people who pride themselves on being liberal and for the people and so open, but yet are so closed off when approached by people who are conservative and may have trouble with changing their views. They are only open to people who share their view. But isn’t that like many of us. I don’t want to be this way. I want the freedom of giving unconditional love and acceptance. To strengthen my desire to live a life of unconditional love and acceptance, I would like to practice among others who are doing the same.

I discovered a spiritual center not to far from my house and I think I’m going to visit it soon. I’m hoping it is a place I can grow more spiritually. I feel I need the community and a mentor also. Winter has ended, after all, even though there is snow and spring has come. It’s time to know the truth of spring. It’s time for new beginnings, new growth. I’m ready to grow more.

One response to “Snow is falling…tears in my eyes…thoughts on spirituality

  1. Pingback: Dear God, It’s me Sara. Traditional religions need to die… | simply sky·

Leave a comment